18+ | Commercial Content | T&C's Apply | Play Responsibly | Advertising Disclosure
online-betting.me.uk is an independent professional comparison site supported by referral fees from the sites which are ranked on this site. The sites and information we present are from companies from which online-betting.me.uk receives compensation. This compensation may impact the rankings of the sites. Other factors, including our own opinions, your location, and the likelihood of signing up, may also impact how the ranking of the sites appears to a particular user. online-betting-me.local cannot and does not present information about every betting/casino site or betting/casino site offer available.

ATP World Tour Finals Betting

ATP Finals O2 Arena London - © GEPA pictures

The ATP World Tour Finals was founded back in 1970 as an end of season celebration for the best performing players of that given season. The tournament was initially known as the Masters Grand Prix and it was hosted in Tokyo.

Throughout its history, the tournament has gone through plenty of changes. That ranges from Stan Smith topping out a round-robin format in the inaugural event, which featured six players in total, through to the current format of the top eight points-earners getting through to the event.

The tournament switched to being called the ATP World Championships in 1990. That’s when it started to take on a new life as the ATP took over the event for the first time.

Things were switched up again in 2000 when it became the Tennis Masters Cup. The switch over to the ATP World Tour Finals happened in 2009 and it has stuck ever since.

In general, it has been raised to the status of really being the most important tournament behind the four Grand Slam events.

It is a prestigious honour to be picked up at the end of the calendar year.

ATP World Tour Finals Qualification

Eight players make their way to the ATP World Tour Finals. For the most part, it is all about the points that have been picked up throughout the course of the season from ranking tournaments.

Points towards rankings come from the four Grand Slam events and tournaments across the ATP World Tour, the ATP Challenger Tour and the ITF Futures.

The 18 tournaments which count towards players qualification points are the four Grand Slams, the 8 mandatory ATP Masters and the best results from 6 other ranking tournaments.

Out of all that the top seven players from the ATP rankings get their places at the event. Filling out places would be up to two Grand Slam winners ranked between 8th and 20th for the season (if such players exist, which is pretty unusual).

If the eight spots haven’t been filled then the next players in the ATP rankings get in.

ATP World Tour Finals Format

The format of the ATP World Tour Finals is a unique one. That’s because it is the only single event of the ATP season that isn’t just a straight knockout. For the first stage of the tournament, there is a round-robin format.

The eight players split over two groups. Each player plays the other players in their group once. Following that, the top two from that go through to the semi-finals.

The winner of the first group plays the runner-up of the second group and vice versa in the knockout stages. All matches across the tournament, from the group stage to the final are all the best of three tie-break sets.


Running alongside the singles event at the ATP World Tour Finals is a doubles event as well. The double tournament consists of eight teams. The qualification process is pretty much the same as that of the singles qualifiers.

The format of the doubles tournament for the Finals is different, however. There are no round-robin groups. It’s a straight knockout bracket.


The initial tournament in 1970 was won by American Stan Smith. That was his only title at the event. Other big names to have won it just the once includes Jimmy Connors and Andre Agassi.

Legends of the sports Bjorn Borg and Lleyton Hewitt both won it twice through their careers, while Boris Becker and John McEnroe collected it three times each.

Ilie Nastase won the event four times, and only four other players have won it on more occasions. Those four are Novak Djokovic, Pete Sampras, Ivan Lendl and Roger Federer.

Peter Fleming and John McEnroe are the most successful doubles players. Together they won it seven times, while the Bryan brothers won it four times.

ATP World Tour Finals 2019 Review

Going into the end of season event it was Alexander Zverev who was the defending champion. But another new name was etched in the record books as Greece’s Stefanos Tsitsipas walked away with the crown, just twelve months after winning the NextGen ATP Finals edition.

Tstitpas was one of three players making their ATP World Tour Finals debut in 2019. The others being Daniil Medvedev and Matteo Berrettini.

Rafael Nadal had gone into the event as the top seed having ended the year as the top-ranked player in the world.

Group Stage Surprises

Tsitsipas had been in a group with Rafael Nadal, Daniil Medvedev and Zverev. Victories over Medvedev and Zeverz was enough to see Tsitsipas win the group, with Zverev following him through to the semi-finals, surprisingly eliminating Rafa Nadal.

The other group at the ATP World Tour Finals 2019 contained Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Dominic Thiem and Matteo Berrettini. That was a major shock in that group as Djokovic failed to qualify after losses to both Federer and Thiem. Those were the two who went through.

In the semi-finals, Tsitsipas took a straight-sets victory over Roger Federer, while Thiem did the same against Zverev. The final of the 2019 ATP World Tour Finals turned out to be a superb clash. Thiem took the first set on a tie break, before Tsitsipas levelled things up. Tsitsipas then sealed the title via a tie-break in the final set.

Tennis Betting – Odds, Preview and Predictions

2020 ATP World Tour Finals Preview

The 2020 ATP Finals are scheduled to be held from November 15th to 22nd at the O2 Arena in London.

Also, the 2020 edition will be the 51st edition of the singles event and the 46th on the doubles.

The ATP Finals 2020 maintains the same format of two round-robin groups to start off with.

The top two from each group moves ahead to the semi-finals where the competition becomes a straight knock-out.

Stefanos Tsitsipas is the reigning champion after winning in 2019 on his tournament debut

You can find betting odds, previews and predictions about upcoming Tennis fixtures at the ATP World Tour Finals in our news category Tennis Betting: