Commercial content, 18+ , T&C Apply

Australian Open Betting

Australian Open Tennis Ball - © GEPA pictures

The Australian Open starts each calendar year with a bang. Players have little time after the winter break to get warmed up for the Grand Slam event. This tournament, hosted in Melbourne, is the first tennis major of the four in a calendar year. It is held over the last two weeks of January it has been a hard court event since 1988 and it was in 2007 that the surface was turned to the famous blue Plexicushion that we see today. The tournament itself was actually founded in 1905 so it has over a century of history.

Dimitrov looks ready to land on the world stage
Australian Open Men’s Singles 2018 – Odds and Preview

The first ever professional edition of the Australian Open was held back in 1969 so you generally look at the two era’s for records, pre-1969 and post 1969. The appeal of the tournament is naturally huge and it is played in the middle of the Australian summer so players have to deal with soaring temperatures as well. The attendances really do rival the crowds that pour into the US Open later in the year and the Australian Open gives equal payouts as well because the total prize money is distributed equally between the women’s and the men’s tournaments in Melbourne. The prize fund for the winners of the two main singles events is in the millions.

Svitolina appeals in the leading Melbourne pack
Australian Open Betting 2018 Women – Winner Odds & Predictions

Three of the courts at the tournament do have retractable roofs and this allows play to continue even in the most extreme temperatures (or rain!). The Rod Laver Arena, the Hisense Arena and the Margaret court Arena all have the retractable roofs. The first round of the tournaments for both the men’s and the women’s have 128 players filling out the spots. There are three qualifier rounds for some players to get through before making it to the main draw.

Former Winners

Australia’s own Roy Emerson was the king of the court in the pre-professional era with six titles won, but in the modern Open era, Serbia’s Novak Djokovic equalled that record when he got his hands on the title for the sixth time in 2016. Other notable multiple time winners of the men’s tournament throughout the modern history have been Roger Federer, Andre Agassi and Mats Wilander.

Margaret Court was the most dominant female figure on the scene in the pre-professional Era of the Australian Open, winning the title seven times and then going on to actually win four more in the Open era as well. Of the modern stars, Serena Williams, Steffi Graf, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Chris Evert and the legend Martina Navratilova all collected the title on multiple occasions in Melbourne.

2017 Australian Open Review

Serena Williams won her seventh Australian Open title as she beat out her sister Venus in the showdown match of the tournament. It was a big tournament for the underdogs really with the unseeded Mirjana Lucic-Baroni running her way to the semi-finals after knocking out fifth seed Karolina Pliskova in the quarter finals. CoCo Vandeweghe was also another surprise semi finalist after she powered her way past Garbine Muguruza, the seventh seed, in the quarter finals. There had been high hopes for Britain’s Jo Konta, but she crashed out against Serena Williams in the quarter finals.

Roger Federer rolled back the years to win his fifth Australian Open title in 2017. Federer had to come through an epic semi final duel with Swiss compatriot Stan Wawrinka to make it through to the showcase match where he met Rafael Nadal. Federer needed the full five sets to get his hands on the title after Wawrinka had taken him to five. Andy Murray went into the tournament as the World Number One, the first time entering a Grand Slam in that position, but he struggled for fitness and was ditched out in the fourth round by unseeded German Mischa Zverev. The big upset shock of the tournament came in the second round when Novak Djokovic was beaten by Denis Istomin in five sets.

Tennis Betting – Odds, Preview and Predictions

2018 Australian Open Preview

It is uncertain just what kind of strength the fields are going to be at for the 2018 edition of the tournament. Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray all missed warm-up tournaments because of injuries, Nadal stating that he was still carrying over a knee injury from last year. Andy Murray pulled out of Brisbane and would potentially have to have surgery on his hip. Even if he showed up in Melbourne, he hasn’t played competitively since summer last year. Djokovic is a major doubt as well after citing an elbow problem. Roger Federer seems to be the only one of the major players without a big concern and he is the 7/4 outright favourite at William Hill.

Serena Williams made her comeback to tennis in early January, stepping on the court for the first time since the birth of her first child for an exhibition match. Although her ranking is down to 22nd in the world because of not playing since Melbourne last year, she gets an automatic place at the event. Surprisingly Williams is the 4/1 outright favourite still for the tournament. But punters may spot a lot of value in the challenging pack consisting of Garbine Muguruza, Karolina Pliskova, Maria Sharapova and notably Simona Halep.

You can find betting odds, previews and predictions about upcoming Tennis fixtures at the Australian Open in our news category Tennis Betting: