Commercial content, 18+ , T&C Apply

Sports Personality of the Year Betting - BBC SPOTY

Anthony Joshua - © Featureflash Photo Agency /

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year award is a long standing awards ceremony that takes place every December. The inaugural award was handed over in 1954 and it has been hosted every year since then. The popularity of the Sports Personality of the Year Award is that the public gets to vote on the outcome. A short list is created and then that is when the public can cast their votes on who they think has produced the greatest excellence in sporting achievement over the given calendar year.

The Awards is only for a British subject or someone who resides and produces most of their sporting activities in the United Kingdom. This is a wonderful celebration at the end of the year, because it gives a good look back at the sporting action over the past twelve months and reminds every one of greatness. Along with the main award for the Sports Personality of the Year over the years, there have been other awards added to the overall ceremony.

Joshua likely to win SPOTY but Peaty is overpriced
Sports Personality of the Year Short-list – Awards Betting

There are regional awards as well and a BBC Sports Unsung Hero Award which is given to people who give freely to allow others to participate in sport. Other awards handed out include the BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, the BBC Sports Personality Team of the Year Award, coach awards and young sports personality awards. There is a Special Achievement Award which celebrates anyone who has contributed to charity work through sport, such as Comedian Eddie Izzard running 43 marathons in 51 days to raise money for Sport Relief back in 2009.

So in total, the BBC Sports Personality of the Award show allows people to celebrate all that is good about sport and it can serve as a wonderful inspiration as well. Going back to the actual Sports Personality of the Year Award the actual description for the award is the sportsperson “whose actions have most captured the public’s imagination”.

Former Winners

It is not an award that has been won on multiple occasions by very many people at all. F1 Drivers Damon Hill and Nigel Mansell both won it twice along with boxing legend Henry Cooper. Tennis star Andy Murray created a bit of history in the award as he became the first ever sports personality to win it in back to back years as he was the recipient of the 2016 title after his 2015 triumph. His first award happened back in 2013 to celebrate his first ever Grand Slam tennis title.

Throughout the years of the Award though, the most dominant sport which has produced the most winners has been Athletics. Why could that be? Well, it is probably the one sporting arena where true individual talent gets centre stage and that same can be said of Tennis and Formula One and that is why personalities from those individual disciplines have also done well throughout history.

It’s not quite the same in team events like cricket and football to be able to produce the same degree of individual accolades. Can one person really be responsible for the entries of a team’s title win for example? Even with that having been said more often than not a winner of a given year’s award is usually someone who has achieved a title of some sort in the calendar year (but not always and it’s not a prerequisite).

2016 Review

Last year it was Andy Murray who claimed his third Sports Personality of the Year Award making him the most successful sportsperson in the history of the award with those three wins. That was his third win in the last four editions of the award as well. He took 33% of the public’s vote and coming home second place with 16% of the public vote was Triathlete Alistair Brownlee for his second successive Olympic title. In doing that he created history by becoming the first person ever to defend a Triathlon Olympic title. Taking third with 14% of the votes was Nick Skelton who, at the age of 58 managed to win an Olympic show jumping medal at Rio 2016.

Leicester won the team of the year following their remarkable Premier League victory and boss Claudio Ranieri picked up the coach award. The winner of the overseas personality was Simone Biles.

2017 Preview

The 2017 edition of the Sports Personality of the Year will happen on December 17th, 2017 and the shortlist is already out. Up for the voting is:

  • Elise Christie – short track speed skating
  • Sir Mo Farah – athletics
  • Chris Froome – cycling
  • Lewis Hamilton – F1
  • Anthony Joshua – boxing
  • Harry Kane – football
  • Johanna Konta – tennis
  • Jonnie Peacock – Para-athletics
  • Adam Peaty – swimming
  • Jonathan Rea – motorcycling
  • Anya Shrubsole – cricket
  • Bianca Walkden – taekwondo

Betting markets have had boxer Anthony Joshua at the head of the market for some time, pretty much since his epic World Championship success against Vladimir Klitschko, in one of the most memorable boxing bouts ever. That really set Joshua at the head of the betting market and he is the 1/4 odds on favourite. Lewis Hamilton, who won the title in 2014 has been trading well since wrapping up year another F1 title this year, while Chris Froome has been a popular option too following his record breaking year of being the first man ever to win the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana in the same year.