BDO Men’s World Championships Odds and Preview – Darts Betting

Waites might be worth the wait

Justin Thompson /BDO World Darts ©imago images / Focus Images 03.01.2020

Barely has the excitement died down from the PDC World Championship Final at Alexandra Palace than we’re into the BDO World Championships.

There is a new venue for the less-exalted BDO version of the world title this year. The Lakeside at Frimley Green has been abandoned in favour of the Indigo at the O2 but organisers have sold only 15 per cent of the ticket allocation so that arena is going to sound very empty.

The lack of interest has led to worries that prize money, even at this late stage, may be greatly reduced with sponsors describing an association with the BDO as ‘toxic’. The BDO is very much the poor relation of the PDC and you can’t help thinking that the decision to move their world champonships away from the intimate surrounding of Lakeside could be a fatal error. However, the tour is still a stepping stone for players hoping to make their way in the PDC with Glenn Durant, the winner at Lakeside in the last three years, making the quarter-finals at Ally Pally recently.

However, the dramatic decrease in prize money has already lost this year’s tournament one of its big names. Fallon Sherrock, the odds-on favourite for the Ladies World Championship after her amazing run in the PDC World Championship, has withdrawn with the Ladies winner claiming just £8,000 this year compared to the £12,000 which Mikuru Suzuki received 12 months ago, despite previous claims that the prize fund would increase in 2020. The Men’s Prize Fund will take a sharp drop to £150,000 from £329,000.
BDO Darts Betting at Betfred

BDO World Championship Winners Since 1998

Year Winner Score Runner Up Prize Fund Venue
2019 Glen Durrant 7 – 3 Scott Waites £300,000 Lakeside
2018 Glen Durrant 7 – 6 Mark McGeeney £300,000 Lakeside
2017 Glen Durrant 7 – 3 Danny Noppert £300,000 Lakeside
2016 Scott Waites 7 – 1 Jeff Smith £300,000 Lakeside
2015 Scott Mitchell 7 – 6 Martin Adams £300,000 Lakeside
2014 Stephen Bunting 7 – 4 Alan Norris £300,000 Lakeside
2013 Scott Waites 7 – 1 Tony O Shea £261,000 Lakeside
2012 Christian Kist 7 – 5 Tony O Shea £258,000 Lakeside
2011 Martin Adams 7 – 5 Dean Winstanley £261,000 Lakeside
2010 Martin Adams 7 – 5 Dave Chisnall £261,000 Lakeside
2009 Ted Hankey 7 – 6 Tony O Shea £256,000 Lakeside
2008 Mark Webster 7 – 5 Simon Whitlock £246,000 Lakeside
2007 Martin Adams 7 – 6 Phil Nixon £226,000 Lakeside
2006 Jelle Klaasen 7 – 5 Raymond van Barneveld £211,000 Lakeside
2005 Raymond van Barneveld 6 – 2 Martin Adams £201,000 Lakeside
2004 Andy Fordham 6 – 3 Mervyn King £201,000 Lakeside
2003 Raymond van Barneveld 6 – 3 Richie Davies £201,000 Embassy
2002 Tony David 6 – 4 Mervyn King £191,400 Embassy
2001 John Walton 6 – 2 Ted Hankey £183,800 Embassy
2000 Ted Hankey 6 – 0 Ronnie Baxter £177,000 Embassy
1999 Raymond van Barneveld 6 – 5 Ronnie Baxter £169,200 Embassy
1998 Raymond van Barneveld 6 – 5 Richie Burnett £162,000 Embassy

Men’s Draw

Preliminary Round

Justin Thompson v Scott Williams
Andreas Harrysson v John O’Shea
Paul Hogan v Brian Raman
David Cameron v Nick Fullwell
Gabriel Pascaru v Justin Hood
Darren Herewini v Simon Stainton
Joe Chaney v Ben Hazel
Thibault Tricole v Ross Montgomery

First Round

Wesley Harms (1) v A. Harrysson/J. O’Shea
Scott Waites (16) v Martin Adams
Willem Mandigers (8) v Michael Unterbuchner
Scott Mitchell (9) v Leighton Bennett
Wayne Warren (5) v J. Thompson/S. Williams
Andy Hamilton (12) v D. Herewini/S. Stainton
Dave Parletti (4) v Chris Landman
Gary Robson (13) v J. Chaney/B. Hazel
Jim Williams (2) v Gary Stone
Ryan Hogarth (15) v T. Tricole/R. Montgomery
Martijn Kleermaker (7) v Gino Vos
Adam Smith-Neale (10) v P. Hogan/B. Raman
Nick Kenny (6) v Dennie Olde Kalter
Mario Vandenbogaerde (11) v Sebastian Steyer
Richard Veenstra (3) v Pascaru/Hood
David Evans (14) v Cameron/Fullwell

Martin ‘Wolfie’ Adams makes his return at the BDO World Darts Championship this year after surprisingly failing to qualify last year. But the three-times winner will face SCOTT WAITES in the first round.

Waites may be the 16th seed but he was the last player, before Durrant’s hat-trick, to win the BDO World Championship and was the losing finalist 12 months ago. The 42-year-old from Bradford looks well worth an interest at the general 10/1.

Current BDO number one Wesley Harms of the Netherlands will face either Andreas Harrysson or World Masters champion John O’Shea in the first round. Sparky was twice a losing semi-finalist at Lakeside and is also a best 10/1 with William Hill.

BDO World Trophy winner Jim Williams takes on Gary Stone in round one and is the current 7/2 favourite with most major online bookmakers. A semi-finalist last year, he’s bidding to become the fourth Welshman in history to win the BDO World Championship but is not yet in the same league as the likes of Leighton Rees and Richie Burnett.

Leighton Bennett is just 13 and will become the youngest player in BDO history to play in the Men’s World Championship when he faces Scott Mitchell. The teenager has already won the World Youth Championship this year and has been making waves across Europe since joining the senior tour. He’s only a best 20/1 to win the O2 tournament but is up against the 2015 winner in his first match – Mitchell is a general 12/1.

Richard Veenstra is a general 8/1 and the Dutchman was runner-up to Jim Williams in the BDO World Trophy earlier this year. However, he’s got a mixed record in the BDO World Championship and has twice gone out in the second round with thumping defeats.

BDO World Championship Current Best Odds

Jim Williams 7/2
Richard Veenstra 8/1
Wesley Harms and Scott Waites 10/1
Scott Mitchell 12/1
Michael Unterbuchner and Leighton Bennett 20/1
Dave Parletti 22/1
Martijn Kleermaker, Mario Vandenbogaerde, Paul Hogan and Dave Evans 25/1
Dave Evans, Wayne Warren and Nick Kenny 28/1
John O’Shea and Andy Hamilton 33/1
Adam Smith-Neale and Martin Adams 40/1
Gary Robson 50/1
66/1 and Upwards Others
(Odds correct at 9.30 am January 2)