Betfair Sprint Cup Odds and Preview – Horse Racing Betting September 7

Can Hello Youmzain wave goodbye to classy Sprint Cup field?

Horse Racing Betting

Despite reservations about the forecast soft going, July Cup winner Ten Sovereigns is among 13 runners declared for Saturday’s Group 1 Spring Cup at Haydock, sponsored for the first time this year by Betfair.
The Sprint Cup is contested over 6f at the Lancashire track and forms part of the QIPCO British Champions Series being the third all-aged Group 1 sprint on the UK calendar.
Initially run in early November and around a left-hand bend. It was moved to its current place in the calendar in 1979 and has been held on Haydock’s straight track since 1986. It became restricted to three-year-olds and upwards only in 1994 having been previously open to two-year-olds. It was promoted to Group One status in 1988.
No horse has won it twice apart from Be Friendly, who won the first two editions.

Betfair Sprint Cup Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Owner
1966 Be Friendly 2 Colin Williams Cyril Mitchell Peter O’Sullevan
1967 Be Friendly 3 Scobie Breasley Cyril Mitchell Peter O’Sullevan
1968 no race 1968
1969 Tudor Music 3 Frankie Durr Michael Jarvis David Robinson
1970 Golden Orange 4 Jimmy Lindley Ken Cundell Lady Clifden
1971 Green God 3 Lester Piggott Michael Jarvis David Robinson
1972 Abergwaun 4 Lester Piggott Vincent O’Brien Charles St George
1973 The Blues 2 Richard Marshall Bill Marshall G. van der Ploeg
1974 Princely Son 5 Johnny Seagrave Ken Cundell Wilfred Sherman
1975 Lianga 4 Yves Saint-Martin Angel Penna, Sr. Daniel Wildenstein
1976 Record Token 4 Pat Eddery Peter Walwyn Sir Herbert Ingram
1977 Boldboy 7 Willie Carson Dick Hern Lady Beaverbrook
1978 Absalom 3 Taffy Thomas Ryan Jarvis Mrs C. Alington
1979 Double Form 4 Geoff Lewis Fulke Johnson Houghton Baroness H. Thyssen
1980 Moorestyle 3 Lester Piggott Robert Armstrong Moores Furnishings Ltd
1981 Runnett 4 Bruce Raymond John Dunlop Miss V. Evans
1982 Indian King 4 Greville Starkey Guy Harwood J. Levy
1983 Habibti 3 Willie Carson John Dunlop Mohamed Mutawa
1984 Petong 4 Bruce Raymond Michael Jarvis Tom Warner
1985 Orojoya 3 Brent Thomson Jeremy Hindley Robert Sangster
1986 Green Desert 3 Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute Maktoum Al Maktoum
1987 Ajdal 3 Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute Sheikh Mohammed
1988 Dowsing 4 Pat Eddery Jeremy Tree Khalid Abdullah
1989 Danehill 3 Pat Eddery Jeremy Tree Khalid Abdullah
1990 Dayjur 3 Willie Carson Dick Hern Hamdan Al Maktoum
1991 Polar Falcon 4 Cash Asmussen John Hammond David Thompson
1992 Sheikh Albadou 4 Bruce Raymond Alex Scott Hilal Salem
1993 Wolfhound 4 Michael Roberts John Gosden Sheikh Mohammed
1994 Lavinia Fontana 5 Jason Weaver John Dunlop Cyril Humphris
1995 Cherokee Rose 4 Cash Asmussen John Hammond Sheikh Mohammed
1996 Iktamal 4 Willie Ryan Ed Dunlop Maktoum Al Maktoum
1997 Royal Applause 4 Michael Hills Barry Hills Maktoum Al Maktoum
1998 Tamarisk 3 Tim Sprake Roger Charlton Highclere Racing Ltd
1999 Diktat 4 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin
2000 Pipalong 4 Kevin Darley Tim Easterby Tom Bennett
2001 Nuclear Debate 6 Gérald Mossé John Hammond Bob Chester
2002 Invincible Spirit 5 John Carroll John Dunlop Prince A. A. Faisal
2003 Somnus 3 Ted Durcan Tim Easterby Legard / Sidebottom / Sykes
2004 Tante Rose 4 Richard Hughes Roger Charlton Bjorn Nielsen
2005 Goodricke 3 Jamie Spencer David Loder Sheikh Mohammed
2006 Reverence 5 Kevin Darley Eric Alston G. & L. Middlebrook
2007 Red Clubs 4 Michael Hills Barry Hills Ronald Arculli
2008 African Rose 3 Stéphane Pasquier Criquette Head-Maarek Khalid Abdullah
2009 Regal Parade 5 Adrian Nicholls David Nicholls Dab Hand Racing
2010 Markab 7 Pat Cosgrave Henry Candy Tight Lines Partnership
2011 Dream Ahead 3 William Buick David Simcock Khalifa Dasmal
2012 Society Rock 5 Kieren Fallon James Fanshawe Simon Gibson
2013 Gordon Lord Byron 5 Johnny Murtagh Tom Hogan C. Poonawalla & M. Cahalan
2014 G Force 3 Danny Tudhope David O’Meara Middleham Park Racing XVIII et al.
2015 Twilight Son 3 Fergus Sweeney Henry Candy Godfrey Wilson & Cheveley Park Stud
2016 Quiet Reflection 3 Dougie Costello Karl Burke Ontowainner, Strecker & Burke
2017 Harry Angel 3 Adam Kirby Clive Cox Godolphin
2018 The Tin Man 3 Oisin Murphy James Fanshawe Fred Archer Racing

Sprint Cup Trends

  • Three-year-olds have won four the last five runnings and five of the last eight
  • Half of the last 12 winners started favourite
  • Eight of the last 13 winners had won a group race previously
  • All but one of the last 13 winners had run at least three times that season

The Tin Man is a general 16/1 to become only the second horse to win this race for a second time. He can’t have the ground soft enough but will have to run an awful lot better than when fading out of contention behind Waldpfad and Khaadem, only a best 5/1, in a Group 3 race at Newbury seven weeks ago. The latter has since won the Stewards’ Cup at Goodwood in impressive fashion but this is a massive step up in class from that.  Waldpfad (18/1 with Betvictor) was beaten in a Group 2 back in Germany subsequently.

Ten Sovereigns is one of three Aidan O’Brien three-year-olds in the line-up and the pick on his Newmarket form when he had Fairyland back in third. He got taken off his feet behind Battaash over 5f at York last week and this is a more suitable test. But his normal ebullient trainer is clearly worried about current ground conditions and he’s been very easy to back this week (now 5/1 with Coral).

Advertise beat several of this weekend’s rivals when he won the Commonwealth Cup under an inspired Frankie Dettori at Royal Ascot on good to soft ground. Ten Sovereigns reversed the form in the July Cup on quicker going but Martyn Meade’s classy sprinter got back to winning ways in the Prix Maurice de Gheest at Deauville when holding off a rejuvenated Brando. The latter was a gallant second in this race 12 months ago so the 14/1 with Bet365 is too big if he’s back on song. Advertise is a best 3/1 with Coral, among others, and probably has a favourite’s chance but this as strong a renewal as you could imagine.

Dream Of Dreams (9/1 with Betfred) was a fast-finishing second behind Blue Point in the Diamond Jubilee at Royal Ascot and didn’t get much of a run in the July Cup. Forever In Dreams, a massive 33/1 with the sponsors, has also won at Haydock this year and improved again to finish second to Advertise at Royal Ascot but we are highlighting HELLO YOUMZAIN as our value bet.

Kevin Ryan is not afraid of taking on the big stables with his sprinters – note Brando’s second in this last year – and the son of Kodiac showed what he was all about when trouncing the much-vaunted Calyx at Haydock in May. Successful in a Group 2 on soft going at Maisons-Lafitte as a juvenile, he missed the break in the Commonwealth Cup when last seen so did well to make the frame. That gives him around 5lb to find with Advertise but he will have benefited from a rest and is no forlorn hope if the ground doesn’t dry out considerably.

Hello Youmzain to Win Betfair Sprint Cup



Betfair Sprint Cup Current Best Odds

Advertise 3/1, Khaadem and Ten Sovereigns 5/1, Dream Of Dreams 9/1, Hello Youmzain 12/1, Brando 14/1, The Tin Man 16/1, Waldpfad 18/1, Fairyland and Invincible Army 20/1, So Perfect 25/1, Forever In Dreams 33/1, Major Jumbo 66/1

(Odds correct at 3.15pm September 5)

Visit Bet365