Dafabet Masters 2020 Preview and Betting – Snooker Odds January 12-19

In-form Aussie may prove Ally Pally Masters pick

Neil Robertson /Australia ©imago images / VCG 10.01.2020

There is no Ronnie O’Sullivan in this year’s Dafabet Masters.

The seven-times Masters champion has turned down the opportunity to reclaim his title at Alexandra Palace but it’s not the first time that the 44-year-old has opted out of playing the Masters. He did exactly the same thing in 2013 and then went on to win the World Championship so it’s far too soon to write off one of the most enigmatic characters the sport has ever produced.

The Masters is snooker’s most prestigious invitation tournament. The 2020 tournament runs from January 12 to 19. It has a rich history dating back to 1975 and it is considered one of the sport’s Triple Crown events, alongside the World Championship and the UK Championship.

Only the elite top 16 players are invited to compete for the famous trophy and a top prize of £200,000. Since 2012 the event has been staged at the iconic Ally Pally in North London, which attracts sell-out crowds. Judd Trump won the title for the first time in 2019, beating Ronnie O’Sullivan 10-4 in the final. Other recent winners include Mark Allen, Mark Selby and Neil Robertson.

Dafabet Masters Winners Since 2000

2019 Judd Trump
2018 Mark Allen
2017 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2016 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2015 Shaun Murphy
2014 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2013 Mark Selby
2012 Neil Robertson
2011 Ding Junhui
2010 Mark Selby
2009 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2008 Mark Selby
2007 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2006 John Higgins
2005 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2004 Paul Hunter
2003 Mark Williams
2002 Paul Hunter
2001 Paul Hunter
2000 Matthew Stevens

Masters Snooker Betting at BetVictor

This year’s first round has thrown up some intriguing ties.
The defending champion Judd Trump faces the 2015 champion Shaun Murphy. The 2011 winner Din Junhui takes on the 2017 runner-up Joe Perry while three-times winner Mark Selby will have to overcome Ali Carter to reach the quarter-finals. Mark Williams, who won the Masters in 1998 and again in 2004, has a clash with Stuart Bingham to look forward to and his match will complete the first round.

Dafabet Masters 2020 First-Round Draw

Judd Trump v Shaun Murphy
Ding Junhui v Joe Perry
Mark Selby v Ali Carter
John Higgins v Barry Hawkins
Neil Robertson v Stephen Maguire
Mark Allen v David Gilbert
Kyren Wilson v Jack Lisowski
Mark Williams v Stuart Bingham

Shaun Murphy’s 2015 triumph over Neil Robertson saw him become just the 10th player in history to complete the Triple Crown having previously won the World Championship and UK Championship. The Magician (a best 20/1) has probably ended up in the easiest half of the draw but his challenge could still end early as he has to play NEIL ROBERTSON in the first round.

Three times a finalist in the Masters the Australian, who has pledged financial support to victims of the bushfires in his native country, arrives at this year’s tournament with a major title already under his belt this season. He beat world champion Judd Trump in the final of the Champion of Champions in Coventry in early November. He looks a cracking bet at a general 9/2 in the Masters this year and you can also profit from a saver from backing the Thunder From Down Under to win the Third Quarter at a generous-looking 11/10.

Trump (13/5 on Betfair) has already collected three titles this season as well reaching the final of the Champion of Champions. However, he’s not yet captured last season’s brilliant form and suffered a surprising early exit the UK Championship at end of last year. He also failed to qualify for the European Masters so has a way to go to cement his place as the next big thing in world snooker. A quest he’ll struggle to achieve for as long as The Rocket is still smouldering quietly on the launch pad.

Marl Selby is only a best 7/1 with Mark Allen a general 14/1. John Higgins is 14/1 with Unibet but this invitational tournament has not been kind to the veteran Scot since he got the better of The Rocket in the 2006 final.

Dafabet Masters 2020 Best Current Odds

Judd Trump 13/5
Neil Robertson 9/2
Mark Selby 7/1
Mark Allen 11/1
Ding Junhui 12/1
John Higgins 14/1
Kyren Wilson and Shaun Murphy 20/1
Mark Williams and Stuart Bingham 25/1
Jack Lisowski and Barry Hawkins 33/1
David Gilbert 40/1
Stephen Maguire 45/1
Ali Carter 80/1
Joe Perry 100/1
(Odds correct at 3.00pm January 9)

Neil Robertson to Reach Masters Final