Nobel Peace Prize Candidates and Odds – Novelty Betting

Swedish teenager in line for coveted prize

Novelty Betting & Other Events Betting

Can raising awareness of climate change and its implications qualify as promoting peace?
That’s the question Nobel Prize judges will have been asking themselves ahead of the announcement of the annual prize later this month.
If the answer is in the affirmative then Swedish teenager Greta Thunberg is surely in pole position to join a distinguished list of former winners which includes the Dalai Lama, Nelson Mandela and Barack Obama.

Nobel Peace Prize History and Recent Winners

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 99 times to 133 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2018. A total of 106 individuals and 27 organisations have won the award with the International Committee of the Red Cross having been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize three times and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees winning it twice.
Alfred Nobel was an inventor, entrepreneur, scientist and businessman who also wrote poetry and drama. His varied interests are reflected in the prize he established and which he lay the foundation for in 1895 when he wrote his will, leaving much of his estate to the establishment of the prize. Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been honouring men and women from around the world for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for work in peace.
Since World War II, the Peace Prize has principally been awarded to honour efforts in four main areas – arms control and disarmament, peace negotiation, democracy and human rights. In the 21st century, the Nobel Committee has extended that brief to limit the harm done by man-made climate change and threats to the environment.

1998 Hume, John Northern Ireland
Trimble, David Northern Ireland
1999 Doctors Without Borders
2000 Kim Dae-Jung South Korea
2001 United Nations
Annan, Kofi Ghana
2002 Carter, Jimmy U.S.
2003 Ebadi, Shirin Iran
2004 Maathai, Wangari Kenya
2005 ElBaradei, Mohamed Egypt
International Atomic Energy Agency
2006 Grameen Bank
Muhammad Yunus Bangladesh
2007 Gore, Al U.S.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
2008 Ahtisaari, Martti Finland
2009 Obama, Barack U.S.
2010 Liu Xiaobo China
2011 Gbowee, Leymah Liberia
Johnson Sirleaf, Ellen Liberia
Karmān, Tawakkul Yemen
2012 European Union
2013 Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
2014 Satyarthi, Kailash India
Yousafzai, Malala Pakistan
2015 National Dialogue Quartet
2016 Juan Manuel Santos Colombia
2017 International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons
2018 Denis Mukwege Democratic Republic of the Congo
Nadia Murad Iraq

Age no barrier to award of Nobel Peace Prize

Age is no barrier to recognition in the Nobel Peace Prize. Malala Yousafzai won it jointly in 2014 having survived an assassination attempt aged 15 for speaking out about a lack of educational opportunities for girls living under the rule of the Pakistani Taliban.
Thunberg has been at the forefront of a campaign by children worldwide to bring the subject of climate change to the attention of governments. She’s made enemies of Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin among others so some would say she must be doing something right!
The young Swede, who has already won Amnesty International’s highest honour, is certainly passionate, well-spoken and unafraid and is the just the type of person that the Nobel Prize committee normally favour so the 8/13 with William Hill to receive the laureate looks good value.
Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, who has negotiated a peace treaty with his country’s sworn enemies Eritrea, is also in contention and is 4/1 with Ladbrokes with an organisation thought to be in the running being Reporters Without Borders (33/1 with Unibet), who have come to the fore following the murder of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi.
New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern (a general 9/1) is also prominent in the betting having done much to build multi-racial ties in the aftermath of the Christchurch mosque shootings. She has also spoken out against the treatment of minorities in China. Donald Trump, Vladimir Putin, Kim Jong-un and Julian Assange would be more controversial nominees.

Nobel Peace Prize 2019 Current Best Odds

Greta Thunberg 8/13
Abily Ahmed 4/1
Jacinda Ardern 9/1
The Arctic Council, The American Civil Liberties Union and UNHCR 20/1
Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev 25/1
Pope Francis 28/1
Donald Trump, Edward Snowden and Reporters Without Borders 33/1
Julian Assange 50/1
Vladimir Putin and Kim Jong-un 100/1
(Odds correct at 10.45am October 8)

Greta Thunberg to Win Nobel Peace Prize

William Hill