Phil Taylor faces Mikuru Suzuki in Paddy Power Darts From Home series

Darts action continues this week

There will be some more Darts From Home action courtesy of bookmaker Paddy Power this week. After a recent duel between legends Phil Taylor and Raymond van Barneveled, which was won by the latter, the popular series gets another fixture.

On Thursday, Phil Taylor will be back at the oche as he takes on two-time BDO Women’s World Champions Mikuru Suzuki.

World Champions meet

Taylor is a 16-time World Champion and the biggest name ever in the sport. In his battle with Barney recently, Taylor lost a deciding leg. For the Paddy Power Darts From Home series, it is the first player to win seven legs that takes the match.

This is all for charity as the bookie is putting up £1,000 for every 180 hit and £200 for every first dart finish.

Between them, Taylor and Van Barneveld raised £15,000 for charity. For this match, Taylor’s efforts will go to the NHS charity Heroes. Anything recorded by Suzuki goes to Peace Winds.

Because of social distancing each player is playing from their own home, coming together on live video streams via iPhones. The match can be watched on Paddy Power’s social media channels as well as on Sky Sports from 7pm on Thursday, 7th May.

PDC Home Tour

This is an aside from the PDC Home Tour which is rumbling on. That was kicked off back in the middle of April where a mini group of four players will compete against each other in a round-robin format from their own homes, each night.

There are 32 groups in total for that and the winner of each of those groups will then go forward to the second part of the tournament.

PDC Home Tour Outrights

Nathan Aspinall 6/1
Dave Chisnall 9/1
Chris Dobey 10/1
Jonny Clayton 16/1
Max Hopp 25/1
Damon Heta 25/1
Luke Woodhouse 25/1
Ryan Searle 25/1
Darren Webster 25/1
Jelle Klaasen 28/1
33/1 bar
* (betting odds taken from Betfred at 18:38 GMT on May 3rd, 2020)

These have been creative ways to deliver some safe sporting action to fans. World Number one Michael van Gerwen decided to not take part and the tournament so far has already seen the fall of players like Peter Wright, James Wade and Michael Smith from the group stage.