Premier League Darts 2019 Odds and Preview – Darts Betting

Mighty Mike bids for fifth Premier League title

Darts Betting

The 2019 Premier League Darts begins this Thursday, February 7, at the Metro Radio Arena in Newcastle. It will later go to Glasgow, Dublin, Exeter, Leeds and Nottingham ahead of increasingly-popular European nights in Berlin and Rotterdam.

Rotterdam will again stage consecutive league nights on March 27-28, including Judgement Night as the original 10-player field is reduced to eight when the bottom two are eliminated. The Mercedes-Benz Arena will host the Berlin leg on Thursday, March 21. The remaining seven league nights will each feature four matches in visits Liverpool, Cardiff, Birmingham, Manchester, Sheffield and Aberdeen before the top four players contest the Play-Offs and Final on Thursday, May 23 at The O2 in London.

Recently-crowned world PDC world champion Michael van Gerwen won a third successive Premier League title last year when he beat then world champion Rob Cross in the semi-finals of the Play-Offs and Michael Smith in the final. As usual, the top four players from the PDC Order of Merit, following the 2018/2019 World Championship, have qualified by right for the 2019 Premier League and are joined by six others who have received an invitation.

The first night’s order of play has thrown up some intriguing match-ups, including a clash between last year’s finalists van Gerwen and Smith, who also met in the World Championship Final at All Pally last month:

  • James Wade v Raymond van Barneveld
  • Gerwyn Price v Daryl Gurney
  • Gary Anderson v Mensur Suljovic
  • Michael van Gerwen v Michael Smith
  • Peter Wright v Rob Cross

James Wade returns to the 10-man Premier League field, which also features Raymond van Barneveld on his farewell tour in his final season ahead of his retirement. Wade, the champion back in 2009, makes his comeback after missing the 2018 competition as a result of winning the European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals at the back end of last season. Five-time world champion Van Barneveld, the 2014 Premier League champion, will play for a 14th successive season.

Players Championship Finals winner Daryl Gurney, Grand Slam of Darts champion Gerwyn Price and German Darts Masters winner Mensur Suljovic have all retained their places in the Premier League for a second year running. The two-times champion Gary Anderson, 2018 world champion Rob Cross and 2017 Premier League finalist Peter Wright are also involved.

Premier League Darts Past Finals & Winners

2005 – Phil Taylor 16-4 Colin Lloyd
2006 – Phil Taylor 16-6 Roland Scholten
2007 – Phil Taylor 16-8 Terry Jenkins
2008 – Phil Taylor 16-8 James Wade
2009 – James Wade 13-8 Mervyn King2010 – Phil Taylor 10-8 James Wade
2011 – Gary Anderson 10-4 Adrian Lewis
2012 – Phil Taylor 10-7 Simon Whitlock
2013 – Michael van Gerwen 10-8 Phil Taylor
2014 – Raymond van Barneveld 10-6 Michael van Gerwen
2015 – Gary Anderson 11-7 Michael van Gerwen
2016 – Michael van Gerwen 11-3 Phil Taylor
2017 – Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Peter Wright
2018 – Michael van Gerwen 11-4 Michael Smith

2018 Premier League Darts Table

  1. MVG P 16 W 11 D 1 L 4 LegD +43 Pts 23
  2. Smith P 16 W 9 D 2 L 5 LegD +24 Pts 20
  3. Anderson P 16 W 8 D 3 L 5 LegD +15 Pts 19
  4. Cross P 16 W 8 D 3 L 5 LegD +5 Pts 19
  5. Gurney P 16 W 4 D 8 L 4 LegD +1 Pts 16
  6. Barney P 16 W 6 D 4 L 6 LegD -8 Pts 16
  7. Wright P 16 W 4 D 6 L 6 LegD -20 Pts 14
  8. Whitlock P 16 W 5 D 3 L 8 LegD -18 Pts 13
  9. Suljovic P 9 W 2 D 0 L 7 LegD -13 Pts 4
  10. Price P 9 W 0 D 2 L 7 LegD -29 Pts 2

Premier League dartsUnsurprisingly, ‘Mighty Mike’ is a hot favourite to win a fifth Premier League title (4/5 with Betfred) – he’s closing fast on Phil Taylor’s record six titles. Van Gerwen is an even shorter price to top the Premier League before it enters the Play-Off stage (1/3 with Betfred) but is 4/1 with Sportingbet to record the most 180s in the league itself, the same odds as Michael Smith and Gary Anderson.



Premier League Darts 2019 Outright Winner Betting

Michael van Gerwen 4/5
Gary Anderson 6/1
Michael Smith 10/1
Rob Cross 12/1
Peter Wright 16/1
Mensur Suljovic 33/1
Daryl Gurney 50/1
James Wade 66/1
Raymond van Barneveld and Gerwyn Price 80/1
(Odds correct at 6.30pm February 3)

Visit Bet365