18+ | Commercial Content | T&C's Apply | Play Responsibly | Advertising Disclosure
online-betting.me.uk is an independent professional comparison site supported by referral fees from the sites which are ranked on this site. The sites and information we present are from companies from which online-betting.me.uk receives compensation. This compensation may impact the rankings of the sites. Other factors, including our own opinions, your location, and the likelihood of signing up, may also impact how the ranking of the sites appears to a particular user. online-betting-me.local cannot and does not present information about every betting/casino site or betting/casino site offer available.


Horse Racing - Betfair Chase

The Betfair Chase offers one of the big highlights of the National Hunt season in British Racing. It is actually registered as the Lancashire Chase which is a Grade 1 steeplechase hosted at Haydock Park.

The race is hosted in November annually. It is a big affair, despite it being a fairly new arrival among some more prestigious races. But it is a race which is targeted by the best in the business.

Betfair Chase History

The race was inaugurated in 2005 and it served as the first leg of the Betfair Million challenge. Sponsors Betfair decided to set a challenge of offering a £1 million prize to any horse who could win the Betfair Chase, King George VI Chase and the Cheltenham Gold Cup in the same season.

The incredible Kauto Star pulled it off in 2006/07. The very first Lancashire Chase was hosted at Manchester Racecourse in 1884. But the final edition was run in 1963.

So there was then a long absence before it was revived by Betfair to be hosted at Haydock Park in 2005.

The first winner of the Betfair Chase was Kingscliff in that 2005 edition.

About The Race

From 2005 through to 2016 the Betfair Chase was held as a 3-mile contest. But then the trip was extended just a little bit to the current 3m 1f 125y (5,143 metres) to give the runners a longer run-up to the first bend of the race.

The race is open to horses of at least five years of age and mares get a 7lb allowance for the fixture as well. There are nineteen fences in total to be jumped

Famous winners

Famous winners

Kauto Star became the first horse to win the race twice, striking consecutively in 2006 and 2007. He wasn’t finished there. Regarded as one of the greatest catchers of all time, he would also win the race for the third time in 2009 and a fourth in 2011.

Another of the great modern chasers Silviniaco Conti picked up wins in 2012 and 2014 but sandwiched in between those wins, Cue Card scored his first success in the race.

Cue Card would top Silivcano Conti by winning the Betfair Chase for a total of three times.

Then it was Bristol De Mai’s turn to step up to the plate and win the Betfair Chase in consecutive years, scoring in 2017 and 2017.

Just from the list of the great winners that there have been in the Betfair Chase, shows the quality that is always on show in the feature race of the National Hunt season.

2019 Betfair Chase

Lositontranslatoin, trained by Colin Tizzard swept to the 2019 Betfair Chase title. That was the fourth win for Tizzard in the race. It was a huge effort from Lostintransatation to shut down the hattrick chance for Bristol De Mai.

Lostintranslation and Bristol De Mai had started as the 5/4 joint-favourites in what was a spectacular race. The two just couldn’t be separated in the race, just as the bookmakers couldn’t separate than in the Betfair Chase betting market.

The battle that was expected, emerged.

They both cleared the final fence well and still, there was nothing to separate them. It left them in a straight out duel down the straight. Lostintranslation was just able to dig out a little more at the finish to pull away and win by one and a half lengths.

Bristol De Mai had taken on the challenge from the front as Nigel Twiston-Davies’ grey generally does. But for a while, he had other race contenders Frodon and Ballyoptic in between him and Lost In Translation who got a little held up early.

Frodon took third with Ballyoptic fourth in what was a four-horse field for the contest.

Read more racing news and tips in our Horse Racing section

2020 Betfair Chase

The 2020 Betfair Chase will be happening on November 23rd, 2020. It is the race that kicks off the jump season. Once again some of the best chasers around will be heading to the race to take on the challenge.

Lostintransation will likely be back for a title defence, while Bristol De Mai looks to have some unfinished business at the race as well.