18+ | Commercial Content | T&C's Apply | Play Responsibly | Advertising Disclosure
online-betting.me.uk is an independent professional comparison site supported by referral fees from the sites which are ranked on this site. The sites and information we present are from companies from which online-betting.me.uk receives compensation. This compensation may impact the rankings of the sites. Other factors, including our own opinions, your location, and the likelihood of signing up, may also impact how the ranking of the sites appears to a particular user. online-betting-me.local cannot and does not present information about every betting/casino site or betting/casino site offer available.

Wimbledon Betting (tennis)

Wimbledon Tennis Betting

The Championships at Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world. That’s some history. The event was initially founded in 1877 and the tournament has been hosted at the All England Club right from the very start.

That is where the world’s stars of tennis gather today, while the crowds watch on in the British summer, sipping Gin & Tonic and eating strawberries and cream.

Wimbledon (also known as The Championships) is one of the four majors of the sport and the only one of them to be played on grass.

The tournament is the only tennis Grand Slam that has the all-white dress code for players. It is one of, if not the most prestigious tennis event in the world.

A brief history of Wimbledon

The inaugural Wimbledon championship was held in 1877 with just a Gentleman’s Singles tournament behind held. There was a field of 22 taking part.

Spencer Gore etched his name in the history books as he became the first-ever winner of Wimbledon.

It was in 1884 that the first Ladies Singles tournament was added, along with the Gentleman’s Doubles. There was a long gap between then to 1913 when the Ladies’ Doubles and Mixed Doubles were started at Wimbledon.

Interestingly in the early days of Wimbledon, up until 1922 whoever was the reigning champion only had to compete in the final of the following edition. They would face whoever it was who came through the knockout tournament.

History was made by Fred Perry in 1936 as he became the first British player to win Wimbledon.

Andy Murray was the next British player to win the Gentlemen’s Singles at the tournament, claiming the title in a fantastic summer of 2013.

Virginia Wade, who is the only British woman to have won all Grand Slam titles all four events (three singles plus a Doubles title at the French Open), claimed the Wimbledon crown in 1977.

In 2009 Wimbledon fought back against the British summer rain by hosting the tournament for the first time with a retractable roof on Centre Court.

Andy Murray v Stan Wawrinka was the first-ever competitive match to be played with the roof closed on June 29th, 2009.

A big change in rules at Wimbledon happened in 2018 when the tournament changed to introducing a tie-break in the final set of a match that went to 12-12.

Famous Wimbledon Winners

There are two eras of Wimbledon. There is the amateur era and then the Open era which began with the 1968 edition.

Australia’s Rod Laver won the first two editions of Wimbledon in the Open Era (adding to the two amateur titles he’d won) and then in 1976 arguably the first superstar of the Wimbledon Open Era came along.

That was Sweden’s Bjorn Borg who won Wimbledon for five consecutive years before John McEnroe snapped his run by beating him in the 1981 final.

McEnroe himself would win the title three times in total, the same tally as Boris Becker managed in the 1980s.

After Andre Agassi scored the 1993 title, there was a massive era of dominance then from his fellow American Pete Sampras. Sampras got his first Wimbledon title in 1993 and won the event seven times in eight years.

In 2013 a certain Roger Federer lifted the Wimbledon title for the first time. When he won it in 2017, Federer became the all-time leader at Wimbledon, surpassing Pete Sampras.

Federer won Wimbledon for five consecutive years and would still go on to win the event again following the end of that consecutive streak in 2007.

Rafael Nadal won his first Wimbledon title in 2008, with Novak Djokovic making his breakthrough in 2011. Andy Murray lifted the title for the first time in 2013 before following up with a second success in 2018.

Famous Women’s Singles Winners

Billie Jean King won the inaugural Wimbledon event in the Open Era. She, Margaret Court and Chris Evert would largely dominate the tournament through the first decade of the Open Era. Ann Jones became the first British woman to win Wimbledon in the Open Era in 1969, beating Billie Jean King.

Virginia Wade claimed the title in 1977 for Britain as well. The following year, the great Martina Navratilova landed her first Wimbledon title. One of nine that she would earn during her illustrious career.

From 1982 through to 1993, the Wimbledon title was won by either Navratilova or Germany’s tennis superstar Steffi Graff who lifted the Wimbledon title seven times.

American sisters Venus and Serena Williams took a large share of the title between them from 2000 through to 2012. Venus Wiliams claimed the title five times during her career while Serena’s title in 2016 saw her draw level with Steffi Graff on the all-time winners’ list.

Tennis Betting – Odds, Preview and Predictions

2019 Wimbledon Review

In the 2019 Wimbledon Men’s draw there was a title for Novak Djokovic, which was a title defence for him as well. That was the eighth Wimbledon title for Djokovic and he beat Roger Federer in the showcase match to secure that.

Through the draw, Djokovic had had a favourable run of matches and he made it through the first five rounds of competition without dropping a set.

In the semi-finals he did drop one against Roberto Bautista Agut but still managed a comfortable 3-1 victory.

Federer had beaten Kei Nishikori in the quarter-finals, which put him through to a semi-final against his old rival Rafael Nadal. Federer was on top throughout the contest by and large, rallying himself after dropping the second set to post a 3-1 victory.

Epic Men’s Final

The 2019 Wimbledon Men’s final was an epic. One of the greatest ever.

It went to five sets and three of the five needed tiebreaks. That included the deciding set, which under the new rules was settled by a tiebreak as it had gone to 12-12.

The match was finally settled in 4 hours and 57 minutes with Djokovic claiming a 7-3 tie-break win after having saved Championship points in that deciding set.

Halep blasts past Williams for Women’s Singles title

In the women’s Wimbledon 2019 draw it was Simona Halep who rose above the rest. The Romanian claimed her first-ever title at the Championships, beating Serena Williams 6-2, 6-2 in a one-sided contest.

The match was over in under an hour and Halep recorded the lowest ever tally of unforced errors in a Grand slam final, just three.

Britain’s Johanna Konta fell in the quarter-finals against the unseeded Barbora Stycova in what was a disappointing exit in a match which she has been a strong favourite to win.

Germany’s Angelique Kerber has been the defending champion, but she suffered an early exit in the second round against Lauren Davis, who was a lucky loser entrant in the draw.

There was a bit of history made by Coco Gauff, who at just 15 years old, became the youngest player to win in the main singles draw at Wimbledon since Jennifer Capriati in 1991. Gauff claimed a win over Venus Williams in the opening round, who was the oldest player in the main draw at 39.

2020 Wimbledon Preview

Because of the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, the Wimbledon 2020 Championships, which is scheduled for Monday, June 29th through to Sunday, July 12th 2020, there is a possibility that the event will either be postponed or cancelled.

Updates to follow