Commercial content, 18+ , T&C Apply

Six Nations Betting (Rugby)

Rugby Betting

Every year there is a coming together of Europe’s best Rugby Union sides in the Six Nations Championship. This annual event is a round-robin battle to see who is crowned the Six Nations Champion. But there are other honours up for grabs within the tournament, such as the Grand Slam and the Triple Crown.

So for a few blistering and bruising weeks early in the year, the pinnacle of international rugby in the Northern Hemisphere steps into the spotlight and it is one of the most anticipated sporting tournaments on the calendar.

Tournament Format

The tournament usually begins in early February and there first two rounds of action are played on back to back weekends, before a weekend break before the third round of matches. There is another weekend break then before the final two rounds are playing out back to back. Each team plays each of the others once in the competition and the fixtures are reversed from the previous year’s competition, so for example, if England played Scotland at home last year, Scotland will host them for the following tournament.

In 2017, for the first time a bonus points system was used, to come into line for what was being used in domestic rugby (0 points for a loss, 2 for a draw, 4 for a win, 1 for scoring four or more tries in match, and 1 for losing by 7 points or fewer). There was an added caveat that if a team pulled off a Grand Slam, ie winning all matches in the Championship, then a bonus three points would be added to make sure that they would finish top of the table.

Participating Teams

England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France and Italy are the six nations who compete for the Championship. The format of the tournament has grown throughout its history as it was just England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales competing in the original Home Nations. It grew to include France in 1910 for the first time to become the Five Nations and then it switched back to the Home Nations (with France dropping out) between 1932 and 1939. Then France came back for the 1947 edition to revive the Five Nations which stayed around until 2000 when Italy joined to make it the Six Nations.


The Championship Trophy is the main one on offer as the winner of the Six Nations gets their hands on that particular piece of silverware. The Grand Slam is achieved by a side winning of their matches in a given Six Nations season, while the Triple Crown is awarded for a side which wins all three matches against the other Home Nations (England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales) during the course of a tournament.

There are other titles up for grabs within the Six Nations action as well, and these are one-off rivalry matches each season.

The Calcutta Cup – England v Scotland
Millennium trophy – England v Ireland
Centenary Quaich – Ireland v Scotland
Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy – France v Italy

Rugby Betting – Odds, Preview and Predictions

2018 Six Nations Review

Ireland broke the dominance of England at the Six Nations. After back to back titles, the Red Rose of England fell a long way short in the 2018 edition of the tournament, only managing fifth place. It was Ireland who held their nerve all the way to land the title. There was an exciting conclusion to the event as well. Ireland had a shot at the Grand Slam last year, the Championship title having been wrapped up in the penultimate round of action with England’s loss against France.

But the Irish’s shot at the Grand Slam boiled down to them needing to win at Twickenham to do it. Even though the title had slipped through England’s hands, could they at least deny Ireland that? No. It was Ireland who came firing out of the blocks, putting two tries on the board before the first half hour of the match was up and ran out to a 24-15 victory at Twickenham, getting a bonus point as well.

That gave Ireland their 14th Six Nations title along with the Grand Slam and Triple Crown titles as well. That was Ireland’s third Grand Slam title and their 11th Triple Crown. It was Wales who played their way into second place in the table, followed by Scotland, with both of them having produced W3 L2 record. France banked the fourth spot by a point over England who was left disappointed with their fifth-place finish. Once again it was Italy who picked up the wooden spoon. That had already been decided after just the four rounds of action.

2019 Six Nations Preview

The 2019 Six Nations has seen a shift of power. In the 2018 edition, it was the reigning champions England starting as favourites. This time around it is Ireland, at the time, standing as the second-ranked nation in the world behind only New Zealand. It is the Irish who will be looking to secure a title defence in the 2019 Six Nations Championships. The last time that Ireland won back to back titles in the competition was as recent as 2015.

There will be a massive game on the opening weekend of the 2019 tournament as England will make the trip to Dublin to face Ireland. Will that be a big early title decider? Whoever loses that game is clearly going to be on the back foot from a very early stage in the tournament. Ireland will also have home advantage in one other game when they host France during the campaign.

England gets three home games in this year’s tournament against France, Italy and Scotland. The Red Rose though have away trips to Ireland and Wales within their first three games of the tournament. Both Wales and Scotland can take huge positives from their respective campaigns last season, both looking exciting and talent through the back lines. Can either of them get in the mix? Will France be able to shake off some poor years of away form? Once again it is Italy who starts as the outright favourites to finish up with the wooden spoon.

You can find betting odds, previews and predictions in our news category Rugby Betting: