Big Bash Odds and Preview – Cricket Betting

Hurricanes to blow away Big Bash rivals

Cricket Betting

Australia’s Big Bash gets underway this week but the Test stars of the home country and New Zealand will be absent until the latter stages. However, there are plenty of overseas superstars to get the fans worked up with each of the eight teams allowed to name an 18-strong roster, including two international players from outside Australia. The teams are also allowed to nominate an additional four as possible replacements.

Out of the eight teams in the tournament, six have won the title at least once. The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in the league’s history, winning the title three times including consecutively for two years and have reached the final of the tournament in five of the eight seasons. The other five teams which have won the title are the Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Sixers, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder. The current champions are the Melbourne Renegades.

Big Bash Previous Winners

Year Winner Runner up Result
2011-12 Sydney Sixers 3/158(18.5 overs) Perth Scorchers 5/156 (20 overs) Sixers by 7 wickets
2012-13 Brisbane Heat 5/167 (20 overs) Perth Scorchers 9/133 (20 overs) Heat by 34 runs
2013-14 Perth Scorchers 4/191 (20 overs) Hobart Hurricanes 7/152 (20 overs) Scorchers by 39 runs
2014-15 Perth Scorchers 6/148 (20 overs) Sydney Sixers 5/147 (20 overs) Scorchers by 4 wickets
2015-16 Sydney Thunder 7/181 (19.3 overs) Melbourne Stars 9/176 (20 overs) Thunder by 3 wickets
2016-17 Perth Scorchers 1/144 (15.5 overs) Sydney Sixers 9/141 (20 overs) Scorchers by 9 wickets
2017-18 Adelaide Strikers 2/202 (20 overs) Hobart Hurricanes 5/177 Strikers by 25 runs
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades 5/145 (20 overs) Melbourne Stars 7/132 (20 overs) Renegades by 13 runs

Since it’s inception in 2011, the tournament has developed into the one of the most important T20 domestic competitions in world cricket and only the IPL attracts bigger crowds on a regular basis.

Big Bash 2019/20 – This Year’s Teams

Adelaide Strikers

Coached by Jason Gillespie, the Strikers have poached Cameron White from champions the Renegades but have lost South African batsman Colin Ingram and Harry Conway. They’ll be without captain Travis Head for the first few weeks as he is on Test duty but Afghan spinner Rashid Khan returns for a third year. Their second overseas player in Englishman Phil Salt – currently a best 6/1 in the Outright betting.

Brisbane Heat

The Heat are mentored by former Australia coach Darren Lehmann. The will have South African star AB De Villiers available in the New Year with England’s Tom Banton standing in before he arrives. Chris Lynn takes over the captaincy following the retirement of Brendon McCullum and they have two Afghan spinners on their rota, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Zahir Khan – currently 5/1 with Betfair.

Hobart Hurricanes

Jofra Archer’s is still contracted to the Hurricanes but will almost certainly be unavailable due to England’s tour of South Africa. However, Hobart have tempted South African batsman David Miller as his replacement so the Tasmanians should be competitive. Afghan leg-spinner Qais Ahmad is the other overseas player in their squad which also includes James Faulkner, George Bailey and captain Matthew Wade – they are dark horses at a best 13/2 with Boylesports.

Melbourne Renegades

The defending champions have not made wholesale changes to their squad and have added Shaun Marsh from Perth so clearly have back-to-back wins in mind. Aaron Finch is listed as their skipper but international commitments mean he will miss the early part of the campaign. England’s Harry Gurney is included to help mop up the tail of the opposition but much will depend on Sam Harper and Mackenzie Harvey in their second season in the BBL – a general 11/2.

Melbourne Stars

The manner of the Stars’ defeat in last year’s final will still be echoing around the MCG and coach David Hussey has rung the changes. Dwayne Bravo has departed but Hilton Cartwright and Nathan Coulter-Nile join from the Scorchers. Another new signing, Dale Steyn, won’t be available until well into the regular season, however, by which time the Stars may have a mountain to climb – a best 11/2.

Perth Scorchers

Perth have been rocked by a plethora of big-name departures. Shaun Marsh, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Hilton Cartwright have all left the Scorchers while Jason Behrendorff has a stress fracture to his back and is unlikely to play any part. Chris Jordan may well be handed the new ball but it’s hard to see the Scorchers making much of an impact this season – a general 13/2.

Sydney Sixers

Though semi-finalists last season, the Sixers’ failure to reach the final was still viewed as a disappointing end to the campaign. Coach Greg Shippard seems happy with his lot, however, as the nucleus of the side that has served Sydney well in recent seasons remains. England’s Tom Curran and James Vince are back for more but Steve Smith won’t be considered for selection until at least late January. The Sixers should be thereabouts again, however, and are a best 8/1.

Sydney Thunder

The Thunder look much weaker than last season as there will be no Joe Root or Jos Buttler and Shane Watson has retired so there is a new captain in Callum Ferguson. South African bowler Chris Morris and England opener Alex Hales are their overseas player but Usman Khawaja’s participation will depend on whether he is required by his country. Shane Bond doesn’t appear to have as much firepower at his disposal as other coaches – a best 8/1.

Big Bash Predictions

HOBART HURRICANES are still awaiting a first victory in the Big Bash but have twice been losing finalists. Perhaps it will be third-time lucky in 2020 as the Hurricanes look a balanced outfit sprinkled with potential match winners.

Dual Forecast Sixers/Hurricanes

Paddy Power