Indian Premier League 2019 Season Odds and Preview – Cricket Betting

Bright prospect for Sunrisers in the 2019 IPL

Cricket Betting

The IPL is back with three-times winners and defending champions the CHENNAI SUPERKINGS getting things under way against two-times beaten finalists but perennial underachievers the ROYAL CHALLENGERS BANGALORE.

Virat Kohli will again lead the Royal Challengers and any team that features AB deVilliers in their batting line-up deserves the utmost respect. They also have Shimron Hetmyer, star of the West Indies team that pushed England all the way in the recent ODIs, in their ranks but there looks to be very little control among their bowlers so the 7/1 available with Ladbrokes about Bangalore winning their first IPL offers little value.

The Superkings are a general 11/2 and again have a squad packed with experience. MS Dhoni, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo and Suresh Raina will try and guide younger players through the pitfalls of the IPL and it will be a surprise if they are not involved at the business end again, though age is probably starting to catch up with a few of those named.

Indian Premier League Past Winners
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai SuperKings Rajasthan beat Chennai by 3 wickets Yusuf Pathan
2009 Deccan Chargers RC Bangalore Deccan beat Bangalore by 6 runs Anil Kumble
2010 Chennai SuperKings Mumbai Indians Chennai beat Mumbai by 22 runs Suresh Raina
2011 Chennai SuperKings RC Bangalore Chennai won by 58 runs Murali Vijay
2012 Kolkata KR Chennai SuperKings Kolkata won by 5 wickets Manvinder Bisla
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai SuperKings Mumbai won by 23 runs Kieron Pollard
2014 Kolkata KR Kings XI Punjab Kolkata won by 3 wickets Manish Pandey
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai SuperKings Mumbai won by 41 runs Rohit Sharma
2016 Sunrisers Hydrabad RC Bangalore Sunrisers won by 8 runs BCJ Cutting
2017 Mumbai Indians Pune SuperGiants Mumbai won by 1 run Krunal Pandya
2018 Chennai SuperKings Sunrisers Hydrabad CSK won by 8 wickets Shane Watson

SUNRISERS HYDERABAD were beaten finalists last year having notched a first IPL victory in 2016. They still topped the league table last year, despite having David Warner banned and losing Bhuvneshwar Kumar to injury. The latter, one of the world’s most accomplished white-ball bowlers, is fit again and will be backed up by leg-spinner Rashid Khan and Shakib Al Hasan so the Sunrisers probably have the best attack in the IPL. Kiwis Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill will be key batsmen and Jonny Bairstow will be waiting in the wings so any team that betters Hyderabad again will probably win the IPL and Tom Moody’s squad look the best bet at a general 9/2.

MUMBAI INDIANS (11/2 with Boylesports) can be a threat but are notorious slow starters and a little too laid back at times. Their lack of a top-class spinner will continue to be a problem until rectified. KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS are overloaded with spinners but short in other areas, though they have picked up England’s Harry Gurney who is an excellent death bowler. Chris Lynn and Andre Russell may also be able to hit their way out of a few tight spots but, again, the general 6/1 looks short.

Chris Gayle and KL Rahul will probably have KINGS XI PUNJAB (10/1 with Ladbrokes) fans on the edge of their seats again but it’s asking a lot for the pair to sustain a scoring spree right through the league and the qualifiers and there is not really much after. Jofra Archer and Jos Buttler represent RAJASTHAN ROYALS but most attention will be focused on Steve Smith’s return for that side, who are a best 13/2. DELHI CAPITALS have changed their name and should improve on last season’s efforts, when they only won five matches and finished bottom of the league. But they still have a young side lacking any really big names and the 8/1 with Betway isn’t greatly appealing.

IPLIndian Premier League Current Best Odds

Hyderabad Sunrisers 9/2
Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians 11/2
Kolkata Knight Riders 6/1
Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals 7/1
Delhi Capitals 8/1
Kings XI Punjab 10/1
(Odds correct at 3.00pm March 21)